Tsuen Wan Automatic Weather Station
We cooperate with Hong Kong Observatory to run an automatic weather station at our centre to provide meteorological data of Tsuen Wan District, including rainfall, temperature and humidity for the public. The centre would also run weather study course to teach more weather observation knowledge to Hong Kong students.

 
 


Butterfly Garden
This is an open area for butterflies appreciation. The garden planted butterfly larval food plants to attract butterflies laying down their eggs. Students can observe the birth, growth and flying forms of butterflies in a natural environment.

 
 


Rooftop Energy Study Zone
The centre set up different forms of renewable energy systems, such as solar energy, wind energy, to let students understand the feasibility and practicality of such renewable energy.

 
 


Nature Education Trail

The trail was build at our garden where some local species like bamboo and banyan are already growing. In order to increase the types of plants and to be more educational, we use organic methods to plant some interesting plants. These also attract different types of animals to visit our garden and even settle here as their home.

 
 


Concentric Well

This is a natural loudspeaker that makes use of the principle of echo and resonance. Without using equipment, the sound is loud enough for presentation if you just standing in the center of the concentric well. This is an ideal place for teachers to teach and for students to have presentation in the natural environment.

 
 


Plant Nursery

There are many flowerpots putting on the shelves at plant nursery for planting different types of plants, such as succulents, ornamental plants, edible plants, etc. The pupils are able to learn and bring the knowledge of plants to their lives.

 
 


Eco Pond

This is a balanced eco-system. Most of the creatures in the pool are common in Hong Kong rivers. The system aims to show the diversity and interesting life of freshwater ecosystem. Students can take water samples from the pond and observe it under microscopes.

 
 

_________________________________________________________________________________________


 
Ground Floor Multi purpose Room
This is a new multimedia and well-equipped teaching room. A series of maps, including aerial photos of the field studies sites are offered in order to let students have better understanding of the geographical environment of Hong Kong.

Lecture Room

This is a fully equipped multimedia field studies lecture room. The cross-platform computers, high-resolution visualizer, laser discs projectors and high quality PA device are well prepared, so students can present clearly and richly. 。

Laboratory

The laboratory equipped with advanced electronic analytical instruments, so that students can analyze the collected samples fast and accurate.

Library

The library equipped with computers and reference books. Students can have group discussions and preparation for their presentation in the library.

Digital Planetarium

The planetarium equipped with a three-dimensional projector in order to let student learn astronomical knowledge in indoor area without the restrictions of time and weather condition.

Second Floor Multi purpose Room

This is a new multimedia and well-equipped teaching room. A series of information of wildlife in Hong Kong are offered in order to let students know more the ecological environment in Hong Kong.

Observatory Dome

The tower is a dome of 6 meters in diameter and a 0.5 meters diameter reflecting telescope is inbuilt. The sensitivity of the telescope is 5000 times stronger than the human eyes. And it can observe the stars which are dark to 15.5 luminosity and also the Milky Way galaxies which is millions of light-year outside. Using CCD imaging device can shot the planetarium and store the image in the computer and post on the centre's website for scientific research or relevant parties use. It can also be projected on a big screen directly for teaching purposes.

Rooftop observation area

The rooftop of the building which covered with a thick pad can accommodate more than 200 people to observe the sky comfortably at the same time.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

The New Wing
Computer Room
The computer room equipped with advanced computers for students to collect data from the internet and prepare for presentation. Geographic Information Systems are also provided for Geography students use.
 

Multi purpose classroom
A new multi-purpose room equipped with advanced laboratory instruments and multiple microscopes for students to examine the field study information and data for further analysis.
 

Exhibition room
The room displays different kinds of ore, plants, endangered animals and fossils. Part of the specimens on display is provided by our supervisor, manager, and other parties. Some species are collected by the students during field studies. Some fossils from China are very rare.

1111
 



荃灣自動氣象站
「可觀」與香港天文台合作於中心興建自動氣象站,為香港市民提供荃灣區的氣象資料包括雨量、溫度及濕度等。中心亦有發展天氣課程,教授更多的天氣觀測知識予全港學生

 
 


蝴蝶園
一個開放式的蝴蝶欣賞區,園中種植了蝴蝶幼蟲的寄主植物,吸引蝴蝶在此產卵。學生可在自然環境下,觀察到蝴蝶的出生、成長及飛翔等形態。

 
 


天台能源研習區
校園內設置不同形式的再生能源系統,如太陽能、風能等,讓學生認識再生能源的種類及應用方式,藉此了解此類能源的可行性和實用性。

 
 


自然教育徑

自然教育徑圍繞著可觀後花園而建成,那裡原已生長著竹樹和榕樹等的本地品種,為了增加植物的種類和更具教育意義,我們利用有機耕種方法,栽種著各樣有趣的植物,同時亦吸引了不同的動物在這片自然園地內安居。

 
 


種植培育區

這裡放置有多個花架,利用小盆栽種植不同特性的植物,如肉質植物、觀賞植物、食用植物等,讓小學生能將植物的知識帶進生活中。

 
 


生態池

一個平衡的生態系統,大部份池中的生物都是本港河溪常見的,用以展示淡水生態系統的多樣性和有趣的一面。學生更可在生態池中抽取水樣本,放在顯微鏡之下觀察

 
 

_________________________________________________________________________________________


 
聚賢廳
是一全新兼且設備齊全的多媒體教學室,並備有一系列地圖,包括考察地點的航空照片,讓學生更了解香港地理環境。

說地廳

是一設備齊全的多媒體郊野研習講室。跨平台電腦、高解像度實物投影機、鐳射光碟放映機、高質素擴音裝置等匯報設施一應俱全,令學生的匯報清晰而豐富。

研生館(實驗室)

設置有先進的電子分析儀器, 讓學生能快捷而精確的分析搜集得來的樣本。

勤工館(圖書館)

備有電腦和參考書, 方便學生作小組討論和籌備匯報。

星象閣

備有立體數碼星象館, 讓學生能不受時間及天氣限制, 於室內學習天文知識。

談天閣

是一全新兼且設備齊全的多媒體教學室,並備有一系列香港生物資料,讓學生更了解香港的自然生態。

觀星樓

外觀是一6 米直徑的可開關圓拱。內置有一0 . 5 米口徑的反射式天文望遠鏡, 其靈敏度比人眼強5 , 0 0 0 倍, 可觀測暗至1 5 . 5 等光度的星體,遠在數百萬光年銀河系以外的星系亦在視野之內。利用CCD攝影裝置,可將拍攝到的天象儲存在電腦和放在中心網頁,供科學研究或有關人士欣賞,或能直接投像在大銀幕作教學用途。

望斗臺及窺日臺

是建築物的天台,鋪有厚膠墊,可容200多人同時舒適地觀測天象。

_________________________________________________________________________________________

新翼
啟蒙館(電腦室)
備有先進電腦,供學生從網絡上搜集資料及準備匯報,亦會提供地理信息系統課程供地理科學生學習。
 

探理廳(多用途教室)

全新的研習及多用途室,備有先進實驗儀器及多台顯微鏡,供學生將考察所得的資料及數據,作進一步分析。
 

格物廳(展覽廳)

廳中有系統展示著各樣瀕危動物、化石及礦石標本。展出的部份標本是由本校的校監、校董或一些外間人士及團體提供,另一些則是學生在郊野研習時搜集到的。其中十數件來自中國的化石標本,更是難得一見的珍品。
 

 

 

___________________________________________________________________________________